SLUC celebrates 36th Foundation Anniversary

36th Foundation Anniversary


In line with this year’s theme, “DMMMSU @ 36: Living our World-Class Dream”, South La Union Campus (SLUC) prepared different events and activities for the students and teachers, as well as the non – teaching personnel.

The five-day event started with a motorcade, a thanksgiving mass, the coronation of the Faculty Association (FAD) Mr. & Ms. Supreme Personality, Bingo Socials for the Non – Teaching Association (NTA), Mass Blood Donation, and opening of the exhibits and bazaars.

For the second day, a recognition program for the Campus Awardees was held and the major awardees this year are Dr. Precelita L. Osillos as the Faculty Member of the Year; Dr. Eduard M. Albay as the Researcher of the Year; Dr. Janice Rhea P. Cabacungan as the Extension worker of the Year; Dr. Joanne C. Rivera as the IGP Manager of the Year; Mrs. Rhoda E. Sabangan as the Employee of the Year; Mr. Florencio O. Halog as the Employee of the Year (General Services Worker); Mr. John Matthew R. Macalalay as the Student Leader of the Year; Alliance of Health Service Enthusiasts as the Student Organization of the Year; College of Arts and Sciences as the Best Academic Unit of the Year; College of Computer Science as the 1st Runner Up, Best Academic Unit and; Bachelor of Elementary Education as the Best Board Program of the Year.

Also, special awards will be given to the faculty achievers, benefactors, loyalty awardees, past administrators, retirees, and student achievers.

Furthermore, the SLUC Got Talent and Intercollegiate Debate will be conducted on the same day.

The University Awards and Recognition Program will take place at the North La Union Campus (NLUC) as well as the University Research and Extension Day for the third and fourth day, respectively.

Meanwhile, a Color Fun Run, ‘Your Face Sounds Familiar’ FANTA Edition, and Alumni Dinner-for-a-cause will be held at the SLUC to end the five-day celebration.

Article by Catherine B. Paz

Cariaso, Guinto hailed as Mr., Ms. FAD Supreme Personality 2017

Mr. Vladimir C. Cariaso and Ms. Lara Janica Zera G. Guinto, this year’s Mr. and Ms. FAD Supreme Personality together with Chancellor Floribeth P. Cuison and Mr. Victor Rivera.

Mr. Vladimir C. Cariaso of the College of Education and Ms. Lara Janica Zera G. Guinto of the College of Arts and Sciences were hailed as Mr. and Ms. FAD Supreme Personality 2016 during the coronation ceremony held at the Jose D. Aspiras Hall – SLUC, Agoo, on January 16, 2017.

The program started with the welcome remarks by Ms. Jo Ann Rulla, President of FAD SLUC. It was followed by an inspiring message by Dr. Floribeth P. Cuison, Chancellor of SLUC. The masters of ceremonies were Mr. John Mark Lachica and Ms. Abelynn Llarenas.

Aside from Guinto and Cariaso, the following were the other winners, respectively: Mr. and Ms. FAD Amiable Personality – Mr. Kristoffer Camille A. Cacayuran (CCS) and Ms. Faith S. Tadeo (IF); Mr. and Ms. FAD Vibrant Personality – Mr. Andie John D. Tadeo (IF) and Ms. Maria Concepcion G. Balcita (CCS); Mr. and Ms. FAD Gregarious Personality – Mr. Ferdinand M. Navarro (IA) and Ms. Ruby Rose N. Solis (CE); Mr. and Ms. FAD Charming Personality – Mr. Jovencio M. Milan Jr. (ICHAMS) and Ms. Janice D. Usi (IA); Mr. and Ms. FAD Captivating Personality – Mr. Dan Vergel M. Masiong (CAS) and Ms. Elena B. Pimentel (ICHAMS).

In lieu of Hon. Sandra Y. Eriguel, Representative of the 2nd District of La Union, Hon. Victor Rivera gave a rousing message. After his speech, the sashes of the Royal Court were pinned and the trophies were awarded by the family members of the Mr. and Ms. FAD Personalities. The last part of the program was the Coronation of the Members of the Royal Court followed by their royal dance.

Article by Clariza G. Garcia